Saga vs The Exeter Health Insurance (2026): Which for the Over-60s?
Saga vs The Exeter is the comparison older buyers end up making once they have looked past the big-four brands. Saga is the over-50s specialist whose health insurance is underwritten by Bupa: four plan levels, unlimited 24/7 GP access and 4-week or 6-week NHS wait options to trim the price. The Exeter is a mutual friendly society with roots in 1927 whose Health+ plan puts cancer cover with no time or cost limits in the core, and lets you drive the premium down with an excess of up to £5,000 and a no-claims discount of up to 75%. This guide sets them side by side on the things that matter at 60: cancer, out-patient cover, price levers, GP services, hospitals, age rules and underwriting.
Quick Answer
The Exeter if cancer wording and long-term price control matter most; Saga if you want Bupa’s network and a plan you can pick off a shelf. The Exeter’s Health+ covers cancer in full with no time or cost limits in the core plan, pays CT, MRI and PET scans as standard, offers seven excess options up to £5,000 and a 15-level no-claims discount reaching 75%, and holds a Defaqto 5 Star rating. Saga, underwritten by Bupa, sells four plans from Support (hospital treatment only) to Super (unlimited out-patient, £2,500 mental health, Defaqto 5 Star), with unlimited 24/7 GP appointments, Direct Access for mental health and muscle and joint problems, and 4-week or 6-week NHS wait options.
The lines that usually decide it: Saga covers 18 months of biological cancer therapies unless you add Extended Cancer Cover, The Exeter has no such limit; Saga’s GP service is unlimited, The Exeter’s HealthWise gives four GP consultations a year; Saga’s excess tops out at £1,000, The Exeter’s at £5,000. For each insurer on its own see our Saga health insurance review and The Exeter health insurance guide.
On this page
Saga vs The Exeter at a Glance
| Saga | The Exeter | |
|---|---|---|
| Who carries the risk | Bupa Insurance Limited | The Exeter itself, a mutual with almost 100,000 members |
| Who can join | Policyholder 50 or over; family can be added | Any adult; known for accepting older applicants (confirm age terms at quote) |
| Plans | Super, Secure, Saver Plus, Support | Health+, built from core cover plus options |
| Cancer | Chemo and radiotherapy plus up to 18 months of biological therapies; Extended Cancer Cover option removes the time limit; Support excludes out-patient cancer treatment | Full cover, no time or cost limits, in the core plan, including drugs not yet on the NHS |
| Out-patient | Super no annual maximum; Secure up to £2,500; Saver Plus up to £1,500 plus full CT, MRI and PET; Support none | £0, £500, £1,000 or unlimited; CT, MRI and PET in core; unlimited-diagnostics add-on |
| Mental health | Super up to £2,500 a year; Mental Health Direct Access on all plans except Support | Option: 28 days in-patient plus out-patient psychiatry, psychology and CBT; 6 HealthWise video sessions free |
| GP service | Unlimited 24/7 phone or video on every plan, plus Anytime HealthLine | HealthWise: 4 consultations a year, weekdays 8am to 7pm and Saturday mornings |
| Physio | MSK Direct Access without a GP on all plans except Support; Secure pays up to £2,500 a year for therapists | 3 sessions after in-patient surgery in core; 6 HealthWise video sessions; therapies option including dietitian and speech therapy |
| Excess options | £0, £100, £250, £500, £750 or £1,000 | £0, £100, £250, £500, £1,000, £3,000 or £5,000 |
| NHS wait option | 4-week or 6-week wait, plus Guided Care | No wait option; price managed through lists, excess and no-claims |
| No-claims discount | Not a feature of the plan | 15 levels to 75%; a claim over £300 moves you down |
| NHS cash benefit | £100 a night up to 20 nights on most plans; £150 on Super | £150 a night |
| Hospital lists | Guided Care, Saga Countrywide, Saga London Upgrade | Essential, Standard, Extended |
| Dental and optical | Cash benefits on Super | Not offered |
| Rating | Super: Defaqto 5 Star (2026) | Defaqto 5 Star |
Saga figures from saga.co.uk (October 2026) and the Moneytothemasses Saga review (updated 23 September 2026); The Exeter figures from the Moneytothemasses Exeter review (updated 23 September 2026) and Drewberry’s Exeter guide. Both insurers change plan details, so check the documents at quote stage.
Who They Are: Bupa-Backed Brand vs Mutual
Saga is a brand, not an insurer. It designs and markets health insurance for the over-50s and Bupa Insurance Limited underwrites it, pays the claims and supplies the hospital network and the nurse helpline; Saga has changed underwriter in the past, which who underwrites Saga health insurance? tracks. The Exeter is the insurer: a friendly society with roots in 1927, formed in its current shape in 2008 and owned by its almost 100,000 members, with no shareholders. That difference shows up in the products. Saga’s four plans are Bupa cover arranged into shelves; The Exeter’s Health+ is one plan with a mutual’s levers, a no-claims ladder and unusually large excess options, designed to be priced down by the member.
Plan Structure
- Saga: Support is hospital treatment only, with no out-patient cover and no out-patient cancer treatment, but it still includes the GP service. Saver Plus adds out-patient cover to £1,500 a year with CT, MRI and PET in full. Secure lifts out-patient to £2,500 and pays up to £2,500 a year for physiotherapists and other therapists. Super has no annual out-patient maximum, £2,500 of mental health cover, £150-a-night NHS cash benefit and dental cash benefits (Saga dental and optical cover explains them), and is the plan with the 2026 Defaqto 5 Star. the Saga health plans explained goes through each; Saga outpatient limits covers the limits.
- The Exeter: one plan, Health+, whose core already includes full in-patient and day-patient treatment, cancer with no limits, CT, MRI and PET, three post-surgery physio sessions, home nursing, ambulance, parental accommodation until a child is 18 and the £150 NHS cash benefit. You then choose out-patient cover (none, £500, £1,000 or unlimited, with an unlimited-diagnostics add-on so only consultations count against a limit), a mental health option, a therapies option, a hospital list, an excess and whether to take the no-claims option. The Exeter diagnostics and scans cover and The Exeter mental health cover go deeper.
Cancer Cover
This is the clearest difference and, for an older buyer, often the deciding one. The Exeter’s core plan covers cancer in full with no time or cost limits, including drugs not yet available on the NHS, and pays palliative care in full with a £250 hospice donation after a terminal diagnosis. Saga’s Super, Secure and Saver Plus plans cover chemotherapy and radiotherapy and up to 18 months of biological therapies; the Extended Cancer Cover option removes the time limit on licensed cancer drugs, and the Support plan excludes out-patient cancer treatment altogether. In practice Saga with Extended Cancer Cover and The Exeter end up close; Saga without it is not. Saga cancer cover explained and The Exeter cancer cover explained have each insurer’s wording, and cancer cover compared across insurers sets both against Bupa, AXA, Aviva and Vitality.
Out-Patient Cover and Scans
Both insurers pay CT, MRI and PET scans in full whatever out-patient level you choose, which matters more than any other out-patient feature at 60, when the question is usually “can I get the scan this month”. Beyond that, Saga’s limits are set by plan (none, £1,500, £2,500, unlimited) and The Exeter’s by option (none, £500, £1,000, unlimited), with The Exeter’s unlimited-diagnostics add-on letting you keep a low consultation limit while tests are unlimited. Outpatient limits across insurers and the best low-outpatient plans explain how to pick a level; in-patient vs out-patient covers the distinction.
Price Levers: Excess, NHS Wait and No-Claims
- Excess: Saga offers £0 to £1,000; The Exeter £0 to £5,000. A £3,000 or £5,000 excess turns The Exeter into something closer to catastrophe cover with a much lower premium, which suits people with savings who want cancer and major surgery covered and will self-fund the small stuff. How the excess works and changing your excess mid-term cover the mechanics.
- NHS wait options: Saga offers a 6-week wait and, unusually, a 4-week wait, plus a Guided Care option that narrows consultant choice; The Exeter does not sell a wait option. The six-week NHS wait option and guided vs full consultant choice explain when they are worth taking.
- No-claims discount: The Exeter’s optional no-claims scale runs from 0% to 75% over 15 levels, with a claim over £300 costing one to three levels; Saga’s plans do not run a no-claims ladder. Over a long claim-free stretch this is The Exeter’s biggest price advantage, and it is also the thing that stings after a big claim. Health insurance no-claims discounts compares the insurers.
- Renewals: both reprice every year with age, claims and medical inflation. Negotiating your renewal and switching health insurance cover what to do, and cancelling Saga and cancelling The Exeter cover notice and refunds.
GP, App and Direct Access Services
- Saga: the Saga GP Service gives unlimited phone or video appointments 24 hours a day on every plan, Bupa’s Anytime HealthLine gives round-the-clock nurse advice, and Direct Access lets you contact the insurer about mental health (age 11 and over) and muscle, bone and joint symptoms without a GP referral on every plan except Support. the Saga private GP cover guide and Saga mental health cover go deeper.
- The Exeter: the HealthWise app, free with core cover, gives four remote GP consultations a policy year on weekdays from 8am to 7pm and Saturdays from 9am to 1pm, two second medical opinions, six physiotherapy video sessions and six mental health video sessions. The second-opinion service is the feature Saga does not match; the GP limit and hours are where Saga wins. Health insurance with a private GP compares the market.
Hospital Lists
Saga’s policies use Bupa’s network, arranged as Guided Care (the cheapest, with Bupa choosing from a shortlist), the Saga Countrywide list and the Saga London Upgrade. The Exeter offers Essential, Standard and Extended lists, with Extended adding the central London hospitals. For most people outside London the middle option on either is enough. The Saga hospital list and The Exeter hospital list explained cover each; hospital list tiers outside London shows why the upgrade rarely matters. Each hospital page on this site, from Spire Bristol to Nuffield Health Leeds, says which insurers members commonly use there.
Age Rules and Underwriting
- Age: Saga’s policyholder must be 50 or over; a spouse and children (to 21, or 25 in full-time education) can be added. Saga publishes no upper age limit for joining. The Exeter is known for taking older applicants, but it does not state an age ceiling on the pages we checked, so confirm when you quote. Across the market, health insurance for the over-70s and health insurance for the over-60s list who accepts new members at each age and what changes at 65 and 70.
- Underwriting: Saga sells moratorium online, with full medical underwriting and continued personal medical exclusions by phone; its moratorium looks back three years. The Exeter offers moratorium (two-year look-back), full medical underwriting and switch terms. Neither covers pre-existing conditions; see pre-existing conditions explained and moratorium vs full medical underwriting.
Who Should Pick Which
Saga suits you if
- You want Bupa’s network and claims handling under an over-50s brand
- You will use a remote GP often: unlimited, 24/7
- A 4-week NHS wait option appeals as a way to cut the price
- You want dental cash benefits (Super)
- You prefer four ready-made plans to building your own
The Exeter suits you if
- Cancer cover with no limits in the core plan is the point
- You want to price the plan down with a big excess and build a no-claims discount
- You value a mutual with no shareholders
- You want a second-opinion service and speech or dietitian therapies
- You are comparing at 65 or older and want an insurer used to that
Neither is the whole market. Saga’s cover is Bupa cover, so Saga vs Bupa is worth reading; Saga vs AXA for the over-60s and Saga vs Aviva cover the other two big-four options, and WPA, with its Shared Responsibility option and top service ratings, belongs in the same comparison. Private health insurance over 50 and the best private health insurance providers compared set the whole field out.
FAQs: Saga vs The Exeter (2026)
Is Saga or The Exeter better for the over-60s?
Both are built for older buyers, in different ways. Saga is an over-50s brand whose policies are underwritten by Bupa: four plan levels, unlimited 24/7 GP access, Direct Access for mental health and muscle and joint problems, 4-week and 6-week NHS wait options to cut the price, and a Defaqto 5 Star top plan. The Exeter is a mutual with almost 100,000 members whose Health+ plan has cancer cover with no time or cost limits in the core, CT, MRI and PET scans as standard, seven excess options up to £5,000, a no-claims discount of up to 75% and a Defaqto 5 Star rating. Saga suits someone who wants the Bupa network and a plan picked off a shelf; The Exeter suits someone who wants the strongest cancer wording and will use the excess and no-claims levers to keep the price down into their 70s.
Who underwrites Saga health insurance?
Bupa Insurance Limited. Saga designs and sells the policy and Bupa carries the risk, pays the claims and provides the hospital network and the Anytime HealthLine. Saga has changed underwriter before, so our who-underwrites-Saga guide tracks the history; The Exeter is its own insurer, a friendly society with no shareholders.
Which covers cancer better, Saga or The Exeter?
The Exeter: Health+ includes cancer cover in full with no time or cost limits as part of the core plan, including drugs not yet available on the NHS. Saga’s Super, Secure and Saver Plus plans cover chemotherapy and radiotherapy with up to 18 months of biological therapies, and you add Extended Cancer Cover to remove the time limit on licensed cancer drugs; the Support plan does not cover out-patient cancer treatment. For an older buyer, cancer wording is usually the deciding line, and The Exeter’s is simpler.
Does either have an upper age limit?
Saga requires the policyholder to be 50 or over and does not state an upper limit on its over-50s page; from age 66 or so most insurers, Saga included, move you to full medical underwriting or a minimum excess, so check the terms at quote stage. The Exeter is known in the market for accepting older applicants, but it does not publish an age ceiling on the pages we checked, so confirm it when you quote rather than assuming. Our health insurance for the over-70s guide lists which insurers take new members at each age.
Which is cheaper, Saga or The Exeter?
Neither publishes an over-60s price list. Both reprice by age every year, and both offer the same two big levers: a larger excess (Saga up to £1,000; The Exeter up to £5,000) and an NHS-wait option (Saga’s 4-week or 6-week wait; The Exeter’s choice of lists). The Exeter adds a 15-level no-claims discount that reaches 75%, which over a decade of claim-free years matters more than the headline price. The only way to know for your age is a like-for-like quote on the same hospital list and out-patient level.
Which has the better GP and digital services?
Saga: its GP service gives unlimited 24/7 phone or video appointments on every plan, plus Bupa’s Anytime HealthLine. The Exeter’s HealthWise app gives four GP consultations a year on weekdays and Saturday mornings, two second medical opinions, six physio and six mental health video sessions. If you expect to use a remote GP often, Saga; if you want a second opinion service built in, The Exeter.
Which is better for pre-existing conditions?
Neither covers them; both exclude conditions you already have under moratorium underwriting (Saga uses a three-year look-back, The Exeter two years) or via personal exclusions under full medical underwriting, and both will carry existing exclusions across if you switch on continued personal medical exclusions terms. Switching insurer at 65 with a clean record is fine; switching with a live condition means that condition stays excluded wherever you go.
Should I compare Saga and The Exeter with Bupa, AXA, Aviva and WPA too?
Yes. Saga’s cover is Bupa cover with Saga’s plan structure, so a direct Bupa quote can land differently; WPA scores highest for service and offers Shared Responsibility instead of an excess; Aviva is often the keenest price on a like-for-like list; AXA’s Comprehensive Cancer Cover and unlimited mental health on Personal Health are strong for older buyers. A broker comparison prices all of them for your age at once.
Important Information
This 2026 guide is independent general information, not financial or medical advice. Saga plan details are as published on saga.co.uk in October 2026 and in the Moneytothemasses Saga review (updated 23 September 2026); The Exeter Health+ details are as published in the Moneytothemasses Exeter review (updated 23 September 2026) and Drewberry’s Exeter guide. Age terms, cover, limits and prices change and depend on the options you choose, so check both insurers’ current policy documents and get a personal quote before buying. Health insurance covers new conditions that start after you join; pre-existing and chronic conditions are usually excluded. Going Private UK is not affiliated with Saga, Bupa or The Exeter. If you compare insurance quotes through this site, we may receive a commission from our FCA-regulated partners at no cost to you; this does not influence our guides.
Over 50? Compare Them All
See Saga, The Exeter, Bupa, AXA, Aviva and WPA priced for your age before you decide. Existing conditions are not usually covered. Free.
See My PriceFree · Independent · No obligationCover